Régulo Stabilito

Régulo Stabilito

Régulo Stabilito grew up musically in the world-renowned project “El Sistema” in Venezuela and began start his career as a conductor at the age of twenty, working directly with Maestro Jose Antonio Abreu and holding the responsibility of conducting principal orchestras in Venezuela.

His commitment to Latin American music led him and his wife to create the Latin-American Music Initiative (LAMI), an organization with the mission of changing the anonymity of Latin American composers and the invisibility of their works by creating critical editions and promoting those works through performances, recordings, and workshops. LAMI was awarded the 2020 EXCEL Prize at the University of Michigan.

In the United States, he has served as conductor of the Ann Arbor Camerata, Spectrum Symphony Orchestra, and at the University of Michigan: Campus Symphony Orchestra and Campus Philharmonia Orchestra. In his academic career, Stabilito served as Visiting Director of Orchestral Activities and Professor of Conducting at Appalachian State University during de academic year 2021-2022.

During his career, Stabilito accompanied renowned international soloists, and made frequent appearances as conductor. In 2015, he debuted as Opera Conductor with the Primo Casale Opera Company and the Caracas Municipal Symphony Orchestra, receiving exceptional reviews and accolades, which resulted in continuous return invitations for the following seasons. Simultaneously, he conducted several ballet productions with the Teresa Carreño Ballet Company, developing a special interest in conducting music for the dance.

Stabilito is a permanent guest conductor in the Festival Latinoamericano de Música (Latin American Music Festival) in Caracas, where he had conducted a great amount of world premieres and second hearings of Latin American works. 

 In 2006, Stabilito debuted as guest conductor in Argentina maintaining his relationship with Argentinian orchestras as conductor.  He has been guest conductor in Brazil and Colombia, and has continued developing his career throughout Latin America, maintaining a very close relationship with principal orchestras in Venezuela, such as the Simón Bolívar Symphony Orchestra, the Venezuela Symphony Orchestra, and the Caracas Municipal Symphony Orchestra.

 As educator, Stabilito has laboriously spearheaded “El Sistema” inspired teaching programs and conducting youth orchestras in Venezuela, Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Portugal, and United States. As a result of this experience, Stabilito has special interest for the social aspect of education especially in the younger players. 

 Régulo Stabilito hold degrees from University of Michigan (DMA’21) (MM’19), Simón Bolívar University (MM’19) and the Santa Maria University (Law’11) Among his conducting teachers and mentors in are Kenneth Kiesler, Alfredo Rugeles, Rodolfo Saglimbeni, Carlos Riazuelo, Manuel Hernandez-Silva.

Learn even more about Maestro Stabilito in this article by Joan-Ellen Zucker.


Concert:  August 28, 2022  3:00 PM

First United Methodist Church, Oak Ridge TN

Six Degrees to Nadia Boulanger

Jean-Philippe Rameau: Overture to Zaïs (1748)

Igor Stravinsky: Octet (1922‒1923; revised 1952)

Nadia Boulanger: Cantique

Lili Boulanger: Psalm 24 [La Terre appartient à l'Eternel; The Earth is the Lord's] (1916)


George Walker: Lyric for Strings (1947; rev 1990)

Aaron Copland: Clarinet Concerto (1948)
clarinet soloist: Nickolas Hamblin

Astor Piazzolla: Sinfonietta (1953)

Programs are subject to change