A. K. Bissell Park Pavilion

Stay tuned for information on this season's Free Family Concert!

Sunday April 16, 2023 at 3:00 PM

Oak Ridge High School Performing Arts Center



Information and the video from the 2021 concert are below. 

Do you have a super power?   Do you think an orchestra has a super power?  Come learn all about the thrills and super powers of an orchestra while listening to the Oak Ridge Symphony Orchestra performing fun music from Spider Man, Wonder Woman, Indiana Jones, and more. Health guidelines are in force.  For everyone's safety, masks are required for all attendees over the age of 2.  Please socially distance your family or group from others.  Thank you.


Oak Ridge Symphony Orchestra Free Family Concert

Dan Allcott, Music Director & Conductor

Sunday, August 29, 2021
3:00 PM

Watch the concert by clicking here.


Star Spangled Banner
by Francis Scott Key & John Stafford Smith

Portrait of a Peaceful Warrior (2018)
by Kathryn Bostic

Overture to Ruslan and Ludmila
by Mikhail Glinka

Traditional Twinkle Instrument Demo

“What’s Up at the Symphony” Bugs Bunny’s Greatest Hits!
by Jerry Brubaker

by Jean Sibelius 

Wonder Woman (2017)
by Harry Gregson-Williams

Promenade for a Penguin
by Dan Allcott

Spider Man (2002)
by Danny Elfman

“Raiders March” from Indiana Jones
by John Williams

This performance is made possible with generous support from UT-Battelle/Oak Ridge National Laboratory; Spectra Tech, Inc.; the Tennessee Arts Commission; TN Specialty License Plates; Holiday Inn Express & Suites; Oak Ridge High School; James Rome; and numerous individual donors.


Oak Ridge Symphony Orchestra
Dan Allcott, Music Director & Conductor

Violin I
Karen Kartal, Concertmaster
   Charles Klabunde Chair
Soyeon Seo
Jeff Brannen
Jennifer Hausladen
Abigail Hoerner
Kimberly Simpkins
Kyle Venlet
Margaret Moore

Violin II
Sara Lee-Cho, Principal
   Richard Ward, Susan Sharp, and Lois McKeever Chair in Memory of John McKeever
Kari Lapins
Julie Swenson
Sarah Cammisano
Clarice Collins
Susan Gunning

Christy Graffeo, Principal
   Adolf & Carol King Chair in Memory of Soren King
Julie Bélanger Roy
Susan Shor
Anna Dye

Theodore Kartal, Principal
   John H. Allcott Memorial Chair
Jeanine Wilkinson
Alicia Randisi-Hooker
Kathryn York

Herb Hall, Principal
Josh Henley
Katelyn Adams

Shelby Shankland, Principal
Nathalie Simper

Ayca Yayman, Principal
Lydia Schoen

Mark Cramer, Principal
Martha Anderson

Mike Benjamin, Principal
Zach Millwood

Mitzi Hall, Principal
Joseph Meinweiser
Mark Harrell
Meredith Simpson

Joel Tillman, Principal
Stewart Cox
Joe Jordan

Don Batchelor, Principal
Sam Chen
Tom Lundberg

Donnie Pickel, Principal

Clark Harrell, Principal

Wes Palmer, Principal
Dale Disney
Jeff Mulvihill

Personnel Manager & Librarian
Christy Graffeo

Stage Manager
Ken Hurst

36.012879711543, -84.2602023